EMFS Project Team

EMFS has resources to support businesses, students, supply chain intermediaries, educators, and others in a variety of food system settings. Our project team is excited to hear from you and to work with you to support the food & farm economy in WNC!

chumperChumper Walker

EMFS Project Co-PI & Cooperative Extension Director, EBCI

chumper_walker@ncsu.edu 

 

 

Laura D. Lauffer Laura Lauffer

EMFS Project Co-PI & Project Director

lwlauffe@ncsu.edu

 

 

 

Jessica Mrugala

Regional Extension Agent for Local Foods

EBCI Cooperative Extension

jmrugal@ncsu.edu

Lauren HillLauren Hill

Administrative Assistant, EMFS Project

lmhill5@ncsu.edu

 

 

 

Agritourism

Dr. Whitney Knollenberg

Assistant Professor, Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management, NC State University

whitney_knollenberg@ncsu.edu

Apprenticeship Program

Christina Newhouse

Mountain Food & Farm Apprenticeship Program Manager

christina.emfsapprenticeship@gmail.com

Product Development

Smithson Mills

CAFE (Blue Ridge Food Ventures)

smithson@blueridgefoodventures.org 

Land Access

William Hamilton

NC Farmlink Director – Western Region

NC State University Department of Horticultural Science

whamilt@ncsu.edu

EMFS Advisory Partners

Kelley Hiemstra
West District Extension Director
kahiemst@ncsu.edu 

Craig Mauney
Area Specialized Agent, Agriculture – Commercial Vegetables and Fruits
Henderson County Center
craig_mauney@ncsu.edu

Russ Harris
Director of Community and Economic Development
828.586.1962 ext. 214
russ@regiona.org

Ann Bass
ARC Community Economic Development Planner
828 508-0107
ann.bass@nccommerce.com

Rob Hawk
County Extension Director
Jackson & Swain County Cooperative Extension Offices
rjhawk@ncsu.edu

Debra Sloan
NCDA Western Region
Aquaculture Consultant
Agribusiness Development
Franklin (828) 524-1264
debrasloan@earthlink.net

Kathryn Jenkins
Director of Small Business Center,
Tri-County Community College
kjenkins@tricountycc.edu

Tiffany Henry
Director of Small Business Center,
Southwestern Community College
t_henry@southwesterncc.edu

Katy Gould
Director of Small Business Center,
Haywood Community College
kmgould@haywood.edu

 

Other Project Co-Principal Investigators:
Dr. Nancy Creamer Robyn Stout
Dr. Krystal Chojnacki Sarah Blacklin
Dr. Carla Barbieri Bevelyn Ukah
Abbey Piner Tessa Thraves